Monday, February 22, 2010

Mailbox Monday



Mailbox Monday is a meme where you can post what books came into your home during the week. It is hosted by Marcia over at The Printed Page. Go on over and check it out. Be warned though it can lead to large TBR piles and wish lists!



The Poacher's Son by Paul Doiron

Publishers Weekly(from Barnes and Noble)

Down East editor-in-chief Doiron takes a provocative look at the ties between fathers and sons, unconditional love, and Maine’s changing landscape in his outstanding debut. Game warden Mike Bowditch, who hasn’t heard from his dad, Jack Bowditch, in two years, wonders what the man wants from him after he comes home late one night and finds Jack has left a cryptic message on his answering machine. Mike later learns Jack is the prime suspect in the shooting murders of a cop and a timber company executive. Jack, a brutal alcoholic, makes his living poaching game, but Mike can’t believe Jack is a cold-blooded killer. Mike’s belief in his father puts his job at risk, alienates him from the police, and drives him further away from the woman he loves. Fans of C.J. Box and Nevada Barr will appreciate the vivid wilderness scenes. Equally a story of relationships and an outdoor adventure, this evocative thriller is sure to put Doiron on several 2010 must-read lists. 100,000 first printing; author tour.

I received this courtesy of the Barnes and Noble First Look Book Club.





Seized: A Sea Captain's Adventures Battling Scoundrels and Pirates While Recovering Stolen Ships in the World's Most Troubled Waters
by Max Hardberger

Synopsis

Seized throws open the hatch on the shadowy world of maritime shipping, where third-world governments place exorbitant liens against ships, pirates seize commercial vessels with impunity, crooks and con artists reign supreme on the docks and in the shipyards-and hapless owners have to rely on sea captain Max Hardberger to recapture their ships and win justice on the high seas.

A ship captain, airplane pilot, lawyer, teacher, writer, adventurer, and raconteur, Max Hardberger recovers stolen freighters for a living. In Seized, he takes us on a real-life journey into the mysterious world of freighters and shipping, where fortunes are made and lost by the whims of the waves. Desperate owners hire Max Hardberger to "extract" or steal back ships that have been illegitimately seized by putting together a mission-impossible team to sail them into international waters under cover of darkness. It's a high stakes assignment-if Max or his crew are caught, they risk imprisonment or death.

Seized takes readers behind the scenes of the multibillion dollar maritime industry, as he recounts his efforts to retrieve freighters and other vessels from New Orleans to the Caribbean, from East Germany to Vladivostak, Russia, and from Greece to Guatemala. He resorts to everything from disco dancing to women of the night to distract the shipyard guards, from bribes to voodoo doctors to divert attention and buy the time he needs to sail a ship out of a foreign port without clearance. Seized is adventure nonfiction at its best.

I received this courtesy of Barnes and Noble Sneak Peek Program

23 comments:

  1. Both of those books look exciting! I hope you enjoy them.

    ReplyDelete
  2. I agree with Kathy, both of your books look terrific. Will look forward to your reviews!

    ReplyDelete
  3. The Poacher's Son sounds interesting. I actually subscribe to Down East magazine!

    ReplyDelete
  4. Seized sounds like a riveting read!
    Enjoy.

    ReplyDelete
  5. These look good.
    How does one become a member of the Barnes`n` Noble book clubs?

    ReplyDelete
  6. Good week for you. Both books sound good. Hope you like them.

    ReplyDelete
  7. Joyful, to join Barnes and Noble clubs just join the book club section and sign up for announcement emails. When a new title is announced there will be a post explaining the date and time to sign up. Then just signup when they open the signup. I have gotten some pretty good reads from there and the discussions are fun too.

    Thanks all for visiting my little old blog! I sure enjoy visiting all of your blogs!

    ReplyDelete
  8. They both sound great! Your mailbox had a great week!

    ReplyDelete
  9. I'm a thriller sort of girl. Happy reading!

    ReplyDelete
  10. Enjoy your new books! :)

    I am interested in learning more about Barnes & Noble's Sneak Peek Program.

    ReplyDelete
  11. Your books look great; hope u enjoy them all!

    ReplyDelete
  12. I've not heard of these titles. Enjoy your books!

    ReplyDelete
  13. Poacher's Son looks good. I love Maine, so am always looking for good books set there.

    ReplyDelete
  14. Both sound great, I love thrillers - hope you enjoy!

    ReplyDelete
  15. "The Poacher's Son" looks great- enjoy!!

    ReplyDelete
  16. I seeeeriously love reading "sea" books. Like love. And I also LOVE stories that take place in Maine! And I also recieved The Forgotten Garden!

    You are a lucky lady!
    Here's mine if you are interested:

    http://bookblabbing.blogspot.com/2010/02/mailbox-monday.html

    ReplyDelete
  17. I haven't heard of either of these before but they both sound riveting! Great picks. Happy reading!

    ReplyDelete
  18. You have some good reading ahead of you. I'm curious about The Poachers Son. Happy Reading.

    ReplyDelete
  19. I haven't heard of these, but they do sound interesting. Enjoy!

    --Anna
    Diary of an Eccentric

    ReplyDelete
  20. These both look like really intense books! Happy reading :)

    ReplyDelete
  21. The Poacher's Son looks good. Enjoy!

    ReplyDelete

I love comments so please feel free to leave them!